Technical difficulties

Six years ago I bought my first real DSLR, a Canon Rebel XTi, and for a long time it was a constant companion. In the past six months or so I’ve been having some trouble with it. When I photographed the annual PJ Schafer Golf Tournament in June it seemed to be working fine but when I looked at the photos after the event I noticed a lot of them were slightly out of focus. If this had been a low light event with slow shutter speeds or high ISOs I would completely understand but this was a bright, sunny day, and the photos should have been sharp and in focus.

With everything that has gone on between then and now I’d completely forgotten about this problem. Cut to Saturday when I’m at my cousin’s wedding and he asked me to take some pictures. I took close to 300 photos through the course of the event and when looking through some of the shots on my camera’s tiny screen I was excited by what I was seeing. When I got home and took the photos off the camera I was immediately disappointed and it got worse as I went. Roughly 80 of the photos were fully in focus, the rest? Not so much. Even though I was taking these photos just for fun I don’t want to give them crappy shots, I like to maintain a more professional (at least as close as I can get) quality.

I’m not sure what the problem is or whether it’s even worth trying to fix a six year old camera. The ridiculousness of that statement is not lost on me. There used to be a time when things lasted for 20+ years with good care, now anything past five years is considered a long time. At the moment I don’t have the money for a new camera but ideally I’d be in the market for a Canon 7D or Canon 5D Mark II (or Mark III, I’m not picky).

In spite of all that I did manage to get some good shots. I’ve thought about photographing weddings before but they are so much work and the pressure is so high I’m not sure I’d be able to do it. Anyway, here are some of my favorites from the day.

2 thoughts on “Technical difficulties

  1. This may sound like a strange suggestion but did you check your Auto Focus settings. I know once my Rebel accentually went from its 9 point auto focus to just one. It is a useful setting to be able to play with especially when you are photographing landscapes and still life’s and have your area of focus in one place. This may be the reason why your pictures are out of focus.

    To check click the AF button on the back of your camera and see where the red dots are. if they are not all lit then roll the wheel near the cameras shutter release to circle through the AF options until all are alight.

    I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

