Dream a little dream

In my life I’ve had quite a few dreams that I’ve been able to remember in quite astonishing detail. I consider it a blessing and a curse. Dreams where I’ve visited with my grandfathers and dogs that have passed on are always good. Dreams where I’m sitting in the final exam of a class I’ve never attended? Not so much. One I remember from when I was little involved a giant, and yet not so giant, Tyrannosaurus Rex. I was in my house running away from the giant dinosaur; it chased me from room to room. I went and hid under the dining room table and I could hear it coming closer but when I turned to see where it was it had shrunk and was no bigger than a mouse. I used that moment to run and when I looked back it had grown big again and was coming after me. I had that dream repeatedly for years. I’ve never really decided what I think it means. I suppose it could be about how problems always seem bigger when you try to ignore them when in reality they’re not as big a deal as you think. Or something like that.

Other dreams I’ve had include a time when I was shot and stabbed by someone trying to steal my broken down car; giant gold orbs on spider web type threads that were sent down by aliens to monitor what was going on on Earth; trying to run away from a wolf at night but my legs would only move in slow motion; being able to jump really, really high then falling back to earth really, really fast only to land softly and jump up again. There are times when I wake from a dream that I don’t actually remember except that I was crying or screaming or even laughing. (If you’ve never woken up laughing you are missing out, it is such a great feeling!)

Recently I’ve had a couple freaky dreams only one of which I actually remember. In the dream I was laying on the couch with my dog just watching tv and I couldn’t find the remote. I figured it was under the pillow the dog was using to rest his head (sadly this was not just a dream, he actually does that) so I lifted the pillow and there it was. As I reached for it, actually put my hand on it, it was sucked into the couch. Of course that seemed odd but the worst part was the deep, scary voice that said “GET OUT” right afterwards. In the dream I screamed though it was more of a strangled sound when I startled awake.

A couple nights ago I woke myself and Greg up when I made a muffled yelling noise and jumped backward into him. I have no idea what that dream was about but obviously it wasn’t good.

Greg rarely remembers any of his dreams. I think I would be bummed if I never remembered any of mine, I get to do all sorts of crazy things in them.

This post has nothing to do with Naples but you’re more than welcome to tell me about some of your dreams. Have you ever dreamt about all of your teeth falling out? I have. What about getting to school late and realizing you haven’t attended that school in 10 years? Yep. What about it? What have you dreamt?

4 thoughts on “Dream a little dream

  1. Yup I rarely remember my dreams but when I do they’re always odd. Teeth falling out is fairly common I think. I had a dream dictionary once but it basically said that all dreams were either about death, birth or sex. When I was a kid I suffered from night terrors and never knew until my mum told me when I was a lot older. Since then I never remembered my dreams unless I was ill. But now I’m married and more secure when I sleep I do remember dreams more often. I also get sleep paralysis and can’t wake up. I’m conscious I’m awake but I can’t fully rouse myself and I’m screaming out in my head but no noise comes out. My husband is used to how I breathe when this happens and he wakes me up. If I’m on my own it’s horrible though. I just have to calm myself, wait it out and drift back to sleep so I can wake properly. The mind is a scary thing!

    • Night terrors and sleep paralysis sound awful! I think there’s only been one time where I may have had something similar to sleep paralysis but I don’t think I was awake, more like I was awake in the dream and couldn’t move. It was not pleasant whatever it was.

      • Yeah it’s scary to start with, but I’ve learned to relax into it and then I can wake naturally shortly after. I’ve always known I have a messed up brain!

  2. my therapist once told me that all the people in your dreams are you. so maybe a part of you is trying to introduce you to another part of you

Leave a Reply

