I’m still here!

So I’m not trying to avoid you, I swear! I really like you guys! It’s all the Internet’s fault. Specifically it’s FastWeb’s fault for cutting off our service. You know how in the US when you miss a payment they tack on the previous amount to the new bill? Yeah, they don’t do that here. For whatever reason the bill didn’t get paid in April and this past Friday they shut off the internet connection even though all subsequent bills have been paid. I don’t get it either. If you figure it out let me know. Now you know why I’ve been off the radar for a while. It’s not like you missed much anyway. We did a whole lot of nothing on Saturday and yesterday we drove to a nearby park so I could practice driving Greg’s car. I know *how* to drive a manual I’m just not so great at it. Too many things to remember. I much prefer a vehicle that does the thinking for me. Does that mean when the Terminators arrive I’ll be enslaved or immediately killed by them? Probably. Eh, what are you gonna do?

The real fireworks happened early this morning (get your mind out of the gutter) when the craziest thunderstorm I’ve ever heard came in around 3 a.m. We were woken up, or at least I was woken up by the most deafening crash of thunder and simultaneous blinding flash of lightning that scared the crap out of me. My “good lord!” response may have been what actually woke Greg up, I can’t be sure. The storm was apparently directly over us because there were easily three or four more huge cracks of thunder and bright lightning flashes. Part of me really wanted to go to the window and see what was getting struck by the lightning but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Normally I love thunderstorms but this one was insane. When it finally moved on several house and car alarms were going off both nearby and down the hill in Chiaia. I finally got the nerve to go check it out and saw the most beautiful thing – Vesuvius backlit by the lightning flashes. It was so surreal and stunning. If there hadn’t been another cell moving overhead I would have gotten out my camera for some long exposure shots.

What the storm over Naples may have looked like. This was a storm over Capri a couple years ago.

This morning when I was thinking about it I was wondering why it didn’t occur to me that the sound of thunder could have been the volcano erupting. I guess when it’s something you’ve never experienced it wouldn’t be the first thing you think of. Good thing it was just a thunderstorm because we were totally unprepared for anything else.

2 thoughts on “I’m still here!

Leave a Reply

