Birds are assholes and so are zits

**WARNING – The following blog entry make contain TMI. You’ve been warned.**

Hello, my name is Kerrin and I have acne. That’s certainly not an earth-shattering admission, it’s not like I just told you I have three arms or something. I don’t, by the way. Have three arms I mean. I only have two. Since I’ve been over here my face has been breaking out like crazy. I think it’s part stress and more the fact that it has been so hot, I’ve been sweating a lot more, and the air here isn’t so great. (Don’t get me started on the weird cough I’ve developed.) My skin has never been really bad nor has it been really great but this was getting pretty ridiculous. I looked like a 15 year old, which if you’ve met me in person, probably wouldn’t be that hard to believe. When we were at the exchange the other day I picked up some Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash in a grapefruit scent. I also got some Neutrogena Rapid Clear 2-in-1 Gel even though I’ve been using Clearasil for years. For whatever reason the exchange doesn’t carry it. I gotta say the difference is remarkable; my skin hasn’t been this clear in years. Of course it has led to some dryness but it’s small price to pay. I started using Garnier Ultra-Lift 2-in-1 Moisturizer a couple months ago and it works really well to keep the dryness at bay. It smells nice too. The one thing I’m curious about is whether I was the only one who ever heard the “zits go away after 30” thing. I swear in health class we were told that eventually our skin would be amazing and we’d never have to worry about acne again. Lies! Hopefully with this new routine I’ll be able to actually have the skin I’ve always wanted.

On another completely unrelated subject birds are assholes. The little yellow goldfinch-type birds that keep breaking buds off of my hibiscus are the biggest assholes. I thought that maybe it was because I had it placed too close to the the railing and that, in their stupid little bird-brained minds, they got confused managed to run into the plant while aiming for the railing. Now that it has been moved I think they are intentionally flying into the plant. I’m sure it’s because they’re trying to perch on the branches but it feels like they’re doing it to spite me. Don’t get me wrong, I love birds! They sing songs! They’re cute and fluffy! They’re all sorts of different cool colors! I own three birds that currently reside 4,000 miles away in Maryland! But when they want to they can be such dicks. So far they’ve broken four buds off the plant and I’m not sure what to do about it. It would be one thing if they were tiny little buds but these are larger ready to bloom buds. The worst part is that he flies up here and sits on the railing singing his loud, trilling song knowing that I think it’s pretty cool he comes to visit all the while he’s scheming about how to break off another bud. I’d like to punch him in his cute, tiny little bird face.

Sorry for the lame post, hopefully I’ll do something more exciting tomorrow.

P.S. I did spend the day working on the thank you notes! I apologize for the lameness when it comes to those, they’re harder to write than you’d think.

3 thoughts on “Birds are assholes and so are zits

  1. Very funny! NO, zits do NOT go away at 30! They NEVER go away. I is a good thing that you found what works for you. It took me a long time to find a product that didn’t irritate my skin. Aveeno products seem to work of me.

    I LOVE birds, too. BUT you are right. They are little schemers. I have birds that will wait until my dog isn’t looking and then eat his food.(or the berries on my trees) Don’t even get me started about what they would do to my ripening strawberries….Beautiful, musical, colorful little a**holes!

    • I’ve tried Aveeno and it seemed to make things worse but it’s good that it works for you. That seems to be the trouble, what works for one person doesn’t work for another so it’s hard to take recommendations.

      As for the birds, I have no problem with them hanging out just so long as they understand the boundaries and don’t keep trying to destroy my plants! 🙂

  2. Sorry for my typos. That post by “tyleramacker” was from me. (Melanie) . My computer broke so I had to borrow his. I am loving your blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

